March 27, 2009

Ballas Hough Band

So.... do you recognize these guys?? If you are a fan of Dancing with the Stars then you know that these are two of the most amazing dance partners a girl could ask for. Mark Ballas and Derek Hough are two veteran dancers on the show and both have recently taken top awards (and the coveted Mirror Ball trophy) as they danced their way to a big win.

But.... did you know they have another amazing talent?? They have recently joined forces and created the Ballas Hough Band- they were signed by Hollywood Records last year and they have just released their self titled debut album.

Mark and Derek are both featured on vocal and guitar while their remaining band members take the following positions: Emily Grace on keyboard and vocals, Sam Marder on bass, and Harry Sullivan on drums.

The new album has a great mix of original songs as well as some great collaborations with songwriters Dan Wilson, Mary James and more. Here is a sampling of their songs (live song links courtesy of

1. Do You Love Me -Listen
2. Devastated - Listen
3. Closer - Listen
4. She Was The One - Listen
5. Longing For - Listen
6. Birthday - Listen
7. Fall - Listen
8. Do It For You - Listen
9. Break Through - Listen
10. Together Faraway - Listen
11. Underwater - Listen

My Thoughts:

I have to say that after being inundated with the likes of Laurie Berkner and Veggie Tales over the last few years, my ability to choose music that I like to listen to has been very limited. I was pleasantly surprised by this debut album by BHB- who would have though that these guys would be so multi-talented.

The undertones of Maroon 5 and N'Sync flow through these tracks but with a more mature vibe. The debut single, "Do It For You"- co written by American Idol judge Kara DioGuardi- was a good choice as an introduction to BHB. The tunes on this album are catchy, even a bit pop-y, but the true talent lies in the great music that is created by this talented group of musicians.

And MOST importantly... my children enjoyed it as well. My daughter dubbed "Together Faraway"- a very mellow tune- as her favorite and both my little ones were dancing like crazy as soon as I put it on in the car. Finally- music we can agree on and we ALL can enjoy.

To Buy:

The Ballas Hughes Band debut album can be purchased at Amazon or anywhere great music is sold.

This post is courtesy of the One 2 One Network:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!!